main pic final

The Alberta Figure Skating Foundation

Since 1975, the Alberta Figure Skating Foundation (AFSF) has been supporting Alberta figure skaters and promoting their development at all levels, through summer assistance, sponsorships and awards.

Helping Alberta Skaters Reach Their Full Potential

Alberta Figure Skating Foundation

Thanks to the generosity of those who partner with AFSF and through the revenue earned with our annual WildRose Invitational Competition, we are able to present about $50,000 in scholarships and awards every year to assist Alberta figure skaters.

Membership Benefits

Summer Skating Assistance
AFSF Sponsored Clinics
Access to Awards and Grants

Become a Member today!

Questions regarding Membership?  Contact us for more information

Annual Awards

Throughout the year,  the Foundation awards the following to our members:

  • Dennis McFarlane Award

    The Dennis McFarlane Award is presented annually to the highest placing pre-novice ladies skater representing Alberta at a National Event. 

  • Pat Sprague Award

    The Pat Sprague Award is presented to the highest placed Alberta Synchronized Skating team at the Canadian Synchronized Skating Championships (festival or competitive).

  • Cherniawski Family STARSkate Award

    The Cherniowski Family STARSkate Award is presented to the highest placing Triathlon ladies from STARSkate Championships in Bronze, Silver and Gold categories. 

  • Triple/Quadruple Gold Award

    These awards recognize skaters who have achieved their gold test level in any three or four of the Skate Canada figure skating disciplines - freeskate, skills, dance or interpretive.